How long since you have practiced some glide approaches.

Engine Out BTW – I posted below data on LML Forum the other day in response to calls for any info on descent rates…   Doesn’t plot up very well… but it gives a clue or two for the Legacy.  I guess would nice one day to go out there and do this again several times to get a better data set…but for now..seems good enough. Tim Ong demonstrated glide performance to me in 199L some years ago. Following is a summary of what I observed, and which I have in my Supplementary POH. Hope of some use. Approx. sink rates at ~120-130kts IAS   Config                                          Sink rate, ft/min Pitch full fine               Pitch full course   (max rpm)                    (min rpm)   Clean                               1500                              500 10 flap                             1600                              1000 10 flap + gear                  2500                              2300 30 flap + gear                  3000                              2500 But I can’t help myself…started trying to convert into pictures for obvious reasons to form the beginnings an article on Legacy engine out descent rates! Clearly, pretty important to get that prop pulled ASAP especially if one is shooting for High Key (above ident touch down point) at 3000ft and Low Key (abeam touch down point within 1.2mile) at 1500ft.  But, you know, I was never taught that at RACWA – it wasn’t until I flew with Tim Ong at Lancair and then Bob Jeffries at HPAT for my transition training that this became news for me. And up until that time, I had been flying CSU aircraft with RACWA training for years! Engine Out BTW – I posted below data on LML Forum the other day in response to calls for any info on descent rates…   Doesn’t plot up very well… but it gives a clue or two for the Legacy.  I guess would nice one day to go out there and do this again several times to get a better data set…but for now..seems good enough. Tim Ong demonstrated glide performance to me in 199L some years ago. Following is a summary of what I observed, and which I have in my Supplementary POH. Hope of some use. Approx. sink rates at ~120-130kts IAS   Config                                          Sink rate, ft/min Pitch full fine               Pitch full course   (max rpm)                    (min rpm)   Clean                               1500                              500 10 flap                             1600                              1000 10 flap + gear                  2500                              2300 30 flap + gear                  3000                              2500 But I can’t help myself…started trying to convert into pictures for obvious reasons to form the beginnings an article on Legacy engine out descent rates! Clearly, pretty important to get that prop pulled ASAP especially if one is shooting for High Key (above ident touch down point) at 3000ft and Low Key (abeam touch down point within 1.2mile) at 1500ft.  But, you know, I was never taught that at RACWA – it wasn’t until I flew with Tim Ong at Lancair and then Bob Jeffries at HPAT for my transition training that this became news for me. And up until that time, I had been flying CSU aircraft with RACWA training for years!

Engine Out

John Smith gathered this data while flying with Tim Ong who demonstrated glide performance to him in N199L some years ago. Following is a summary of what he observed, and which he and I now have as part of our Supplementary POH. Whilst these specific numbers are for the Lancair Legacy we hope the information will be of some use. The numbers for the Lancair IV are very similar. 

Approximate descent rates at 120 – 130 knots for the Legacy vary from 500 fpm clean and full coarse pitch to as high as 3000 fpm with fine pitch, gear down and flaps 30.
John has kindly converted the data into pictures for obvious reasons and to form the beginnings an article on Legacy engine out descent rates! Clearly, pretty important to get that prop pulled ASAP especially if one is shooting for High Key (above ident touch down point) at 3000ft (minimum) and Low Key (abeam touch down point within 1.2mile) at 1500ft. It is a very tight circuit in a Legacy and this high key low key procedure is something that is rarely taught in General Aviation in Oz.
I for one know that this procedure works very well in the Legacy or any high performance aeroplane.

 

 

 

Glide performance

Glide distance available in the various configurations 

Glide distance available.

How long do you have. The rate of descent can be eye watering if you leave the prop fine and configure early with flaps and gear. Go and practice a few and get some numbers for yourself, it may save you one day.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

